News & Events
Presidents of India

1. Rajendra Prasad
The first President of independent India, and also the longest-serving President, for 12 years. He was also a freedom fighter during the Indian independence movement. Prasad was the only president to serve two terms in office

2. Radhakrishnan
He received Bharat Ratna award in 1954 before becoming the President. He was the first President from South India.

3 Zakir Husain
He was vice chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna. He died in office, the first to do so. He was also the shortest-serving President. He was also the first Muslim President.

4 Varahagiri Venkata Giri
He is the only person to have served as both an acting president and president of India. He was a recipient of the Bharat Ratna, and has functioned as Indian Minister of Labour and High Commissioner to Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
He served as a Minister before being elected as president. He was the second Indian president to die in office. He was also president during Emergency

6. Neelam Sanjeevani Reddy
He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh State. Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh.

7. Giani Zail Singh
In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of Chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister. He was also secretary general to Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) from 1983 to 1986

8. Ramasamy Venkata Ramana
In 1942, Venkataraman was jailed by the British for his involvement in the Indian independence movement. After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government, where he first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and later as Minister of Defence.

9. Shankar Dayal Sharma
He was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications. He has also served as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra.

10. Kocheril Raman Narayanan
He served as India's ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University. He was the first President from Kerala, and also the first Dalit President

11. A.P.J.Abdul Kalam
He was a scientist who played a leading role in the development of India's ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs. He also received the Bharat Ratna. Kalam was affectionately known as the People's President, due to his extra-Presidential activities. He was the first bachelor president of India, and the first Muslim President who completed his term. Kalam died following a heart attack while delivering a speech in Shillong

12. Prathiba Patil
She was the first woman to become the President of India. She was also the first female Governor of Rajasthan

13. Pranab Mukherjee
He held various posts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.

14. Ram Nath Kovind
He was Governor of Bihar from 2015 until 2017 and a Member of Parliament from 1994 until 2006. He is the second Dalit president after K. R. Narayanan. He originally belongs to BJP and is an active member of RSS since his youth.

Marikani MA(Eng)
News & Events
Sivakasi Weekly

Serving Sivakasians Around the World!

Sivakasi Advertisement